What is xAPI (TinCan) and How Does It Work? Overall, we think Camtasia by Techsmith is a worthy tool to keep in your video-editing toolbox. $49.75. I use it for making screencasts and tutorials for students. There are 6 categories of annotations to use: Callouts are a selection of arrows and speech clouds that have text inside them. Like the look of Camtasia, but think it’s too pricey? A new version comes out every year and Maintenance guarantees you'll get the latest version. When it comes to rendering your video, there are two different routes you can go down: instant sharing to an online platform or save as a local file. Upgrade and get maintenance. Simply drag the effect onto the clip and choose from an existing frame, such as a desktop, iPhone or laptop. I'm new to Camtasia. If you have an older version of Camtasia, without their Camtasia Maintenance, then you can purchase an upgrade for a one-off price. On April 28 2020, Camtasia 2020 was officially launched. But if I just waited a week, then bought the next version after it came out (with a maintenance agreement), then I'd get the new program for a full year (or however long the version lasted) and the next version for free. So if I want the new version, I have to pay. You can see them all in the screenshot below. You can even edit and connect different clips together and (most of the time) the program seamlessly sews them together, preventing the mouse from “jumping” to different parts of the screen. Sometimes, I create animated GIFs, for use on this particular blog :). Give feedback. This price will vary depending on your circumstances; an individual upgrade will cost $99.50. And now, here is a screen shot showing the end position of the zoom and pan effect. Techsmith? Annotations, transitions, behaviors – while functional for a basic need, cannot be customized for specific uses. The results were quite disappointing. I hope this review will help you if you’re thinking about investing in Camtasia. I used an